The Vereins Kirche was built soon after the arrival of the first German settlers, and stands as a tribute to the courage and vision of Fredericksburg’s founders. It was the first public building in the town, and served as a town hall, school, fort, and a church for all denominations. This is also the original site of the Pioneer Museum.
The original building was demolished in 1896, but local citizens long dreamed of rebuilding it - a dream that came true in 1935 when a gala celebration was held to dedicate the new structure as a pioneer memorial.
Today, this iconic symbol of our community is centrally located in the Marktplatz. Inside, exhibits introduce visitors to the stories of Fredericksburg’s past. Admission is by donation.